View Blackboard course from a student's perspective

Instructors can turn Edit Mode on and off to switch between Edit Mode and the approximate view that Students will see.


If the instructor is looking for a more complete student view (to see how assignments would look or what would be visible to certain groups), they may want to use Student Preview Mode.

With student preview, you can experience your course exactly as your students do. While in student preview mode, you can do these student activities:

  • Submit assignments
  • Take tests
  • Create blog and discussion posts
  • Create journal and wiki entries
  • View student tools, such as My Grades

Below is what the Student Preview Mode button looks like.

Student Preview Mode Button

  1. Once selected, an orange bar will appear across the top of the browser noting that Student Preview Mode is On.
  2. To exit Student Preview mode click the Exit Preview button on the right-hand side of the orange bar.
  3. You will be prompted to either keep or remove the preview user from your course.
  4. When you have selected to keep or delete the preview user data, click the green continue button.

If you have finished using the preview user, you may want to remove it. However, you may wish to keep your preview user so that you may see and grade anything you submitted. Grading assignments submitted by the preview user allows you to click back into Student Preview Mode and view the grades and feedback exactly as a student would.


Contact Us

Chat with Tech Support Submit a Ticket Call 701-777-2222

Details

Article ID: 59825
Created
Wed 8/8/18 10:45 AM
Modified
Fri 7/9/21 2:21 PM